Why {strict} Paleo Isn’t For Me

Back in July of 2012, when I began CrossFit and strict Paleo I saw phenomenal results, as you well know if you’ve been following my journey. I also got to a point that, even though I felt like my nutrition wasn’t terribly “of track”, I began to stall and eventually regressed right back to where I began. It was frustrating and I thought for sure it was because I wasn’t eating “clean enough” but every attempt I made at cleaning up my diet again, I failed at. The Whole30, 21 Day Sugar Detox and plain ol’ strict Paleo were no longer something I was able to adhere to and I didn’t know why. It was frustrating and I found myself becoming the hopeless person I was before finding CrossFit and Paleo. Often times feeling, once again, as though I was destined to be fat forever.

I have been following Eat To Perform on Facebook for some time now and read their posts on the reg. I would conveniently ignore the parts that talk about carbs because I was still convinced that restricting carbs was my key to fat loss success. Well, a couple of weeks ago I decided I had nothing to lose(pun intended) in giving their program a try. So I signed up, got their e-books and devoured the Met-Flex(Metabolic Flexibility) one. It made me angry yet elated at the same time. It talks a lot about the need for carbs, as someone who does such high intensity activity such as CrossFit, and how restricting them can cause a whole host of issues, including weight gain after a big loss on Paleo(what?!), adrenal fatigue and thyroid issues, all of which I am experiencing. I was angry that it had taken me this long to be turned on to this information but ecstatic that I may have just found my key to sustainable fat loss. I took the following week to read the rest of the material and get prepared to do this thang! Last week I started the program and while I am taking my time easing into my macros, especially my carbs, as the program suggests, I am already noticing positive changes. The most notable is the quality of sleep I am getting. It had gotten to the point that although I was making sleep a priority, going to bed at a decent time and getting 7-8 hours a night, I was not waking feeling refreshed but rather I felt absolutely drained ALL the time(hello adrenal fatigue!). Since incorporating the appropriate amount of carbs, at the right times I feel so much better. I’m falling asleep with much more ease and am waking most mornings before my alarm clock! And best of all I feel refreshed and ready to start a new day.

I was hesitant to write this post just yet. What if I fail at this too??! Then I remembered why I started this blog in the first place 1) I want to be open and honest about both my struggles and victories so that my journey can help others know that fighting for their goals is worth it and 2) accountability! So here it is friends, the next step in my journey. It makes me a bit nervous as it’s practically the opposite of what I previously saw success with but I want to give my body what it’s telling me it needs(yay carbs!) and trust in the process.

Until next time….. xoxo

Leave a comment